Dendrolab.ch
     
 

Background

 
 
 

The dendrolab.ch was founded by Prof. Dr. Markus Stoffel in July 2000 at the Department of Geosciences, University of Fribourg (Switzerland). In 2009, the team moved to the Institute of Geological Sciences, University of Bern. The dendrolab.ch is also affiliated with the Climatic Change and Climate Impacts Research (C3i) team and the Section of Earth and Environmental Sciences at the University of Geneva.

   

The dendrolab.ch currently employs one Associate Professor (Markus Stoffel), five PostDoc (Juan Ballesteros, Christophe Corona, Johannes Edvardsson, Virginia Ruiz, Daniel Trappmann) and three PhD students (Sébastien Guillet, Christine Moos, Clara Rodriguez-Morata). In addition, four PhD students and three PostDoc students are enrolled as associate researchers to the lab and regularly spend time with the permanent staff: Elena Muntan (UBC Spain), Romain Schläppy (Paris1-Sorbonne), France, Klaus Schraml (BOKU Vienna, Austria), Osvaldo Franco (UNAM, Mexico), Alejandro Casteller (IANIGLA Mendoza, Argentina), Jérôme Lopez Saez (Irstea Grenoble, France) and Olimpiu Pop (UBB Cluj-Napoca, Romania). Twelve students are currently writing their MSc and BSc thesis under the guidance of dendrolab.ch staff. The dendrolab.ch presumably is one of the major tree-ring labs of Europe and the largest facility worldwide focusing on the reconstruction of past geomorphic processes.

The success story of the dendrolab.ch started with fundamental and applied research on various geomorphic and geological processes including debris flows, floods, rockfall, snow avalanches, landslides, erosion, or volcanic activity. Initially, research activities focused on the European Alps, the Spanish Central System, Carpathians, Mexican Volcanic Belt and the Patagonian Andes, but work has since expanded to the Himalayas, the Tien Shan, Far East Siberia (Kamchatka Peninsula), United States and the Arctic.

In addition to the geographic expansion of work, members of the dendrolab.ch have also started to undertake fundamental and applied tree-ring research on fire, plant ecology, hydrology, glaciology and climatology. The dendrolab.ch currently also develops tree-ring approaches to ease the calibration and validation of physically-based process models.

The lab is run exclusively with third-party money from the European Union, Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN), Swiss Development and Cooperation Agency (SDC), State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (Seco), Swiss cantonal authorities (Valais), United Nations Development Program (UNDP), as well as from various foreign governments (e.g., Austria, France, Spain).

 
Dendrolab.ch

Dendrolab.ch
     
 

Hintergrund

 
 
 

 

Das dendrolab.ch wurde von PD Dr. Markus Stoffel im Juli 2000 am Departement Geowissenschaften der Universität Freiburg i. Ue. (Schweiz) gegründet. Im Jahr 2009 zog das Team ans Institut für Geologie der Universität Bern. Das dendrolab.ch ist seit diesem Zeitpunkt auch mit der Gruppe Climatic Change and Climate Impacts Research (C3i) der Universität Genf affiliiert.

   

Das dendrolab.ch beschäftigt zurzeit einen assoziierten Professor (Markus Stoffel), funf PostDocs (Juan Ballesteros, Christophe Corona, Johannes Edvardsson, Virginia Ruiz, Daniel Trappmann) und drei Doktorierende (Sébastien Guillet, Christine Moos, Clara Rodriguez-Morata). Zudem sind vier Doktorierende und drei PostDocs als Gaststudierende am Labor eingeschrieben und verbringen regelmässig Zeit mit den permanenten Labormitgliedern. Die assoziierten Studierenden sind an den folgenden Institutionen angesiedelt: UBC Barcelona (Elena Muntan, Spanien), Paris 1 Sorbonne (Romain Schläppy, Frankreich), BOKU Wien (Klaus Schraml, Österreich), UNAM (Osvaldo Franco, Mexiko), IANIGLA Mendoza (Alejandro Casteller, Argentinien), Irstea Grenoble (Jérôme Lopez Saez, Frankreich) und UBB Cluj-Napoca (Olimpiu Pop, Romania). Zwölf Studierende schreiben im Moment ihre MSc oder BSc Arbeit am dendrolab.ch. Das dendrolab.ch bildet die grösste Institution weltweit, welche sich mit der Rekonstruktion von geomorphologischen Prozessen mit Hilfe von Jahrringen beschäftigt.

Die Erfolgsgeschichte des dendrolab.ch begann mit Grundlagen- und angewandter Forschung auf dem Gebiet der Dendrogeomorphologie, wobei vorab Murgänge, Hochwasser, Erosion, Steinschlag, Schneelawinen, Rutschungen und vulkanische Aktivität untersucht wurden. Daher beschränkte sich die Forschungstätigkeit vorerst hauptsächlich auf die Europäischen Alpen, das Spanische Zentralsystem, die Karpathen, den mexikanichen Vulkangürtel und die Patagonischen Anden. Die Arbeiten sind seither auf den Himalaja, das Tien Shan Gebirge, die sibirische Halbinsel Kamchatka, die USA und die Arktis ausgeweitet worden.

Zusätzlich zur geographischen Ausdehnung der Arbeiten haben die Mitarbeitenden des dendrolab.ch den Fokus auch thematisch erweitert. Seit einigen Jahren umfassen die Arbeiten des dendrolab.ch auch Grundlagen- und angewandte Arbeiten zu Feuer, Pflanzenökologie, Hydrologie, Glaziologie und Klimatologie. Zudem arbeiten verschiedene Mitarbeitende im Moment an der Weiterentwicklung von Jahrringanalysen hinsichtlich deren Anwendung für die Kalibrierung und Validierung von physisch-basierten Prozessmodellen.

Das dendrolab.ch wird durch Projektgelder finanziert. Diese stamen im wesentlichen von der Europäischen Union, dem Bundesamt für Umwelt (BAFU), der Direktion für Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit (DEZA), dem Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft (seco), kantonalen Instanzen (vorab Wallis), dem UNO Entwicklungsprogramm (UNDP), sowie von ausländischen Regierungen (z.B. Österreich, Frankreich, Spanien).

 
Dendrolab.ch